Home » Residents » Village History » View Designated Landmarks (text) » 4 Washington Circle (single-family residence)

Request email notification when page changes E-Notify
washingtoncircle

On February 7, 2006 the Board of Trustees designated 304 South Lincoln Street as an historic landmark. This home built In 1929 and then significantly improved in 1989 and again in 1993 boasts custom leaded glass windows, unique English Tudor styling and sits on a park like 1.4 acre lot. The home display's the traditional Tudor characteristic of a limestone wrapped front door, several arched leaded glass windows with limestone caps, as well as limestone accents on the corners of the building. The Chimney displays unique brickwork (Herringbone) and design to reflect the historical Tudor look .

The original Architect Mr. Harford Field is suspected of being a student of Zook. A 1969 obit for the original owner, John McC. Price was located. He passed away at age 85 in Hendersonville, NC, where he had moved after retiring thirteen years earlier. He had been the district manager for the Allen-Bradley Company, where he was employed for over 30 years. Mr. Price served as a lieutenant in the Navy during WWII. He was one of the founders of the Graue Mill Association and it's second president. Even after he moved from the area, he continued as a member of their Board of Advisors until his death. Architect Harford Field practiced in the area for about 11 years, 1929-1941, building many Hinsdale homes in spite of the Depression. HHS has some short articles from The Doings referencing homes built by Field and some recognition he received.

Please contact the Village Planner at (630) 789-7030 with any questions and for assistance in designating your home as a landmark.