Home » Departments » Fire Department » Department Profile » Organization/Personnel

Request email notification when page changes E-Notify

      The Hinsdale Fire Department was officially formed in July of 1893. In the beginning, the department was staffed by Village residents who were true volunteers serving their community. Through the years, the Village's needs were such that a combination full time/volunteer department provided services for many years. Currently, there are 23 full time personnel.

      In April of 2012, Rick Ronovsky was appointed as the Fire Chief to replace Michael Kelly upon his retirement. Chief Ronovsky has been a member of the department since 1986. He was one of the first firefighters to volunteer for paramedic training in 1988 allowing the Village to establish paramedic services. Chief Ronovsky holds numerous fire and EMS certifications and was the first member of the department to receive the Chief Fire Officer certification from the State Fire Marshal. He is a member of several professional fire and EMS organizations including Illinois Fire Chief's Association and the Triton College EMS Advisory Board.

     In addition to Chief Ronovsky, the administrative staff of the fire department consists of Assistant Chief Tim McElroy, two part time Fire Prevention members - Brian Sible and James Halik. Brian Sible is a long time member of the LaGrange Fire Department and has an extensive history in fire prevention. He was hired in 2015 to replace Don Gay who is now the Fire Chief of LaGrange Fire Department. Hinsdale Fire Department also employs a part time administrative assistant, Rita McFarland. Rita is a long time resident of the Village of Hinsdale and very familiar with the community and its residents. The administrative staff works normal business hours - 8 am to 4:30 pm Monday thru Friday.

     The remainder of the personnel are assigned to three shifts. Each shift works 24 hours on duty followed by 48 hours off duty. This arrangement provides at least seven (7) personnel assigned to each shift. The minimum staffing level for on duty personnel is six (6). Currently, fire personnel are assigned to the following shifts:

 Shift 1 (Black)  Shift 2 (Red) Shift 3 (Gold) 
 Capt. Dave DeWolf Capt. John Giannelli  Capt. Kevin Votava 
 Lt. Jon Carlson Lt. Bill Claybrook   Lt. Mike Neville
 FF/PM Mike Karban  FF/PM Don Newberry  FF/PM Doug Niemeyer
 FF/PM Andy Ziemer  FF/PM Bob Patitucci  FF/PM Andy Smith
 FF/PM Kevin Baker  FF/PM Tom McCarthy  FF/PM Steve Tullis
 FF/PM Dan Majewski  FF/PM Jim Nichols  FF/PM Pat Schaberg
FF/PM Jared Skibbens FF/PM Nick McDonough FF/PM Mike Wilson